70/30 Principle: Flipping the Ratio

  
Not to long ago, I listened to a CD interview from Success magazine featuring Brian Tracy speaking on self education. In it, he discussed what he calls ‘E vs. E’ ratio, Education vs. Entertainment.  The interview was profound and fresh to me as I listened to him explain the time wasters and prohibitors in our lives. His study allowed me to further research this duelity and challenge my own position as it relates to my continual growth. What I discovered about myself was I spent so much time being entertained rather than educated, even when I thought I was educating myself. 

Now don’t misunderstand me, I am not suggesting or implying we shouldn’t entertain ourselves or have fun, duh. However, I realized that many of us including myself, place so much more effort in being entertained that we completely abstain from self education. Then, we head to jobs that we can’t stand and we blame everything else in our world for why we aren’t where we want to be. But the truth is that we are not victims, we self sabotage ourselves by aiming too low. Nelson Mandela famous ‘Our Deepest Fear’quote’s overtone was ‘Your playing small does not serve the world.’

 We plan, expect and live small lives because we are scared of genuine growth, because growth stretches you and many of the times it’s not comfortable. I propose you flip the ratio, that you apply 70% effort towards self-education and 30% towards entertainment. If you are not where you desire to be, apply this 70/30 principle to your life style. Turn off the TV, get off the couch, remove yourself from negative people and elements. Read more, surrounded yourself with like-minded individuals and research your craft everyday until you master it! 

“The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character-that is the goal of true education.” -Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Part 2 coming next…

Leave a Reply

